You may have arrived here via a direct link to a specific post. To see the most recent posts, click HERE.

Thursday, April 03, 2008

House of Commons committee "witnesses"

Canada's House of Commons Standing Committee on Public Safety and National Security is reviewing the use of tasers in Canada. To date, five meetings have been held (that we know of). With the exception of the two individuals from the University of Montreal, the list of witnesses who have appeared before the committee reads like a "Who's Who" of taser and "excited delirium" proponents:

Wednesday, March 12, 2008

John C. Butt, Consultant, Pathfinder Forum

Christine Alison Hall, Emergency Department Physician

Bernard Lapierre, Ethicist, philosopher and lecturer, École Polytechnique, U of Montreal (not a proponent)

Pierre Savard, Professor, École Polytechnique, U of Montreal (not a proponent)

Wednesday, March 5, 2008

Commission for Public Complaints Against the Royal Canadian Mounted Police - Paul E. Kennedy, Chair and Michael P. MacDonald, Director, Strategic Policy and Research

Office of the Police Complaints Commissioner of British Columbia - Dirk Ryneveld, Commissioner

Wednesday, February 27, 2008

Toronto Police Service - Michael Federico, Senior Officer, Staff Superintendent, Staff Planning and Community Mobilization

Toronto Police Services Board - Alok Mukherjee, Chair

Monday, February 25, 2008

Royal Canadian Mounted Police -

Richard Groulx, Sergeant, Tactical Training Section
Darrell LaFosse, Assistant Commissioner, Community, Contract and Aboriginal Policing Services
Troy Lightfoot, Inspector, Officer in Charge, Operational Program
Bruce Stuart, National Use of Force Coordinator, National Use of Force Program, Community, Contract and Aboriginal Policing Services

Vancouver Police Department - Joel Johnston, Staff Sergeant, British Columbia Use of Force Coordinator

Ontario Police College - Chris Lawrence, Instructor

Wednesday, January 30, 2008

Canadian Police Research Centre - Steve Palmer, Executive Director

Taser International Inc. - Tom Smith, Chairman

No comments: